The Greenberg Playwright Competition

Named for Educator, Actress, and Encourager, CLARICE GREENBERG, the annual GREENBERG PLAYWRIGHT COMPETITION (GPC) is sponsored and hosted by THE ALLEY THEATRE in Anderson, Indiana.

THE GPC calls for original one-act plays, suitable for simple, black box, in-the-round, performances by THE ALLEY THEATRE, in the JAKE HOOVER STUDIO THEATRE. Winning plays are announced on the opening night of THE ALLEY THEATRE’S March production.  These scripts are cast, work-shopped, and rehearsed during the summer, and performed in the fall of each season, prior to the first production of THE ALLEY THEATRE SEASON.

A winner is chosen from each category:
1) Middle School/6th – 8th Grade
2) High School/9th-12th Grade,
3) College Age/18-26 years,
4) Post-College Age Adult 27 +

Each of the 4 winners receives a cash prize of $500.
THE ALLEY THEATRE secures Stage Directors/Editors for each script, casts the shows, and they are performed the following fall prior to THE ALLEY season.
(see this year’s application for specific details)

Submitted plays, in all categories, are to be no more than 25-minutes in length, contain no more than 7 characters, appropriate for audiences of all ages, and perform-able without the need for anything more than simple furniture and set appropriate for in-the-round performances. A 3-person jury panel of theatre professionals will peruse all scripts and choose 1 winner in each of the 4 age groups. Scripts are submitted in FEBRUARY of each year (see this year’s application for specific details) – Digital Files only (WORD or PDF) – a digital cover sheet must accompany scripts (Name, Address, Email Address, Phone Number, Age, Grade in School if Applicable) – submitted to: Rights to the plays are retained by the playwrights.

INQUIRIES: Any questions about this competition may be answered by inquiring at the above-mentioned email address OR by leaving a message at THE ALLEY THEATRE BOX OFFICE MESSAGE CENTER:  765.643.0701. All calls regarding the competition will be returned if a name and phone number are left on the message.

Click on the link below for a PDF “Call for Submissions 2020” form.

Elaine Bowman – “THE FAIRY TALE”
Vance, Jaimie Gause – “THE 5 STAGES OF GAY”
Lauren Schaffter – “GASLIT”

Aubrey Jeffries – “MEAN TO GOOD”
Lauren Schaffter – “SCARS”
Juli Lee – “DON’T DO IT”

Angela Eden – “STANDBY”
Dr. Jay Wile – “AMAZING GRACE”
Halle Evans – “THE OUIJA BOARD”
Erynn Erwin – “RUN”